Starting Your Vegan Life

How To Pray The Rosary

By McDonald, T.  |  Date  26th of August 2020  Updated 19th of September
You may of heard of the rosary beads, but did you know there are actually 4 sets of rosaries? Each set is said on different days; however, you can say all of them on the same day if you want to. The rosary has five decades with that days mystery being announced at the beginning of each decade.  You can get single decade, five decade fifteen decade and 20 decade rosaries. 

The 4 Rosaries

  • Glorious Mysteries (Sunday and Wednesday)
  • Joyful Mysteries (Monday and Saturday)
  • Luminous Mysteries (Thursday)
  • Sorrowful Mysteries (Tuesday and Friday)

Start by making the sign of the cross followed by an optional introduction prayer.  Next comes the Apostle's creed followed by an Our Father.  The next three Hail Mary beads are for faith, hope and charity. Next comes another Our Father bead; however, there is a Glory Be that is said in the space between the third Hail Mary and the Our Father and before saying the Our Father you announce the first mystery.  Now follow the diagram above, note that the Fatima prayer is optional, until you get to the end of the last decade, a run of ten Hail Mary's, then say the Hail Holy Queen prayer.  At this point you can decide to say another rosary in which case you will announce the first mystery of that rosary. 

If you decide to say all the rosaries, you will notice they give an outline of Jesus's life from His announcement to Mary right through to His dead, resection and subsequent accension into Heaven.  It also reminds us of Mary's assumption into Heaven and Coronation.

Glorious Mysteries

The five glorious mysteries:
  1. The reselection.
  2. The Accension.
  3. The decent of the Holy Spirit.
  4. The assumption of Mary into Heaven.
  5. The Coronation of Mary.


Joyful Mysteries

The five Joyful mysteries 
  1. The annunciation to Mary.
  2. Mary visits Elizabeth. 
  3. The nativity.
  4. The presentation of Jesus at the temple.
  5. Jesus is found teaching in the temple aged twelve.

Luminous Mysteries 

The five Luminous mysteries:
  1. The Baptism in the Jordan.
  2. The wedding at Cana. 
  3. The proclamation of the Kingdom of God.
  4. The transfiguration.
  5. The institution of the Eucharist.

Sorrowful Mysteries

 The five Sorrowful mysteries:
  1. The agony in the garden 
  2. The scourging at the pillar 
  3. The crowning with thorns
  4. Jesus carries the cross through the streets of Jerusalem
  5. The crucifixion